State Chapter

Texas

 

Spread the Vote is getting IDs and building chapters all across Texas. Need an ID? We can help! Fill out this short form.

Want to volunteer? We need you! Email the state director or chapter nearest you below.

MEDIA INQUIRIES:

Meghan Dooley
meghan@feldmanstrategies.com
248.703.8927

 

 
circleheadshot-template.png

Durrel douglas

Texas State Director

Durrel grew up in Houston's "South Park" neighborhood where he saw firsthand the systemic inequity of our society's infrastructure, education system, and criminal justice system.

After a 5-year stint as a prison guard, he dedicated the remainder of his life toward creating a world where fewer people who came from neighborhoods like his ended up behind bars.

Want to get involved in Texas? Contact Durrel at durrel@spreadthevote.org!

 

 

Houston
houston@spreadthevote.org

Dallas
dallas@spreadthevote.org

Fort Worth
ftworth@spreadthevote.org

San Antonio
ramon@spreadthevote.org | 210.365.5250

Austin
austin@spreadthevote.org

 

State Voter Laws 

In the state of Texas, you have to have a government issued photo ID to vote. You can vote with one of these IDs:

  • Texas driver license issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)

  • Texas Election Identification Certificate issued by DPS

  • Texas personal identification card issued by DPS

  • Texas license to carry a handgun issued by DPS

  • United States military identification card containing the person’s photograph

  • United States citizenship certificate containing the person’s photograph

  • United States passport

With the exception of the U.S. citizenship certificate, the identification must be current or have expired no more than 4 years before being presented for voter qualification at the polling place.

* See here for info about the Reasonable Impediment Exception.

Don't have one of these IDs? Don't worry, we can help. Fill out a short form HERE, text us at (713) 496-0570, or email us at durrel@spreadthevote.org and we can help you go through all of the steps and pay all of the fees to get your ID!

 

Local Partners

Spread The Vote is thrilled to be partnered with the following organizations:


Follow us!

We love to connect on social media! Chat with us at @spreadthevoteTX and Facebook.com/spreadthevoteTX!